LibGuides: Dinosaurs: Home

Dinosaur Timeline

Dinosaurs 101

Online Resources

All About Dinosaurs and Fossils
This blog post provides an overview of different kinds of fossils, how they are formed, along with links to additional resources.
Dinosaur and Prehistoric Life
Information on dinosaurs and prehistoric life from DK Find Out, including pictures, diagrams, and videos.
Dinosaurs
Resources from the American Museum of Natural History, including articles, blog posts, and videos.
Dinosaurs
A variety of resources on dinosaurs from the Natural History Museum in London, including articles, videos, and a dinosaur directory.
Paleontology
Detailed encyclopedia article from National Geographic.
Trek Through Time: Mesozoic
An overview of life and geology during the Mesozoic era from the U.S. Geological Survey.

Databases

Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.

Digital Maine Library

The Digital Maine Library provides every resident of Maine with access to online resources that include a collection of full text articles and abstracts from magazines, newspapers, journals and reference. It also provides students, business people, public library patrons, and higher education students and educators the ability to use online learning tools.

These are some recommend database from the Digital Maine Library:

Ancient Earth

The Ancient Earth globe by C.R. Scotese and Ian Webster allows you to browse different geologic time periods on earth by millions of years ago or by special events like the first dinosaurs or first plants.

The Impossible Hugeness of Deep Time

How Did Dinosaurs Get So Huge?

Books in the Library

The Age of Dinosaurs: the Rise and Fall of the World's Most Remarkable Animals by Steve Brusatte
Call Number: 567.9 BRU
New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Steve Brusatte brings young scientists into his world of massive herbivores and fearsome predators, daily unexpected discoveries, and all the new science used to learn about some of the world's oldest beings.
Day of the Dinosaurs by Steve Brusatte; Daniel Chester (Illustrator)
Call Number: 567.9 BRU
Learn everything you ever wanted to know about dinosaurs in this book that allows you to compare the biggest, fastest and fiercest creatures of the land, sea and sky from four different prehistoric periods: the Triassic, the early Jurassic, the Late Jurassic and the Cretaceous. Sections on diet, weapons and defence and dinosaur senses make this a comprehensive introduction to one of the earth's most successful animals.
Dinosaurs by Steve Jenkins
Call Number: 567.9 JEN
Uses infographics to explore dinosaurs, including what they looked like, how fast they could run, and if any of them are alive today.
Dinosaurs: Fact and Fable by Seymour Simon
Call Number: 567.9 SIM
Seymour Simon separates fact from fiction in a brilliant exploration of some of the most fascinating creatures to ever roam the planet: dinosaurs!
Pocket Genius: Dinosaurs
Call Number: 567.9 DIN
Pocket Genius: Dinosaurs profiles more than 140 prehistoric animals and features fossils, skeletons, anatomy, and history as well as species including dinosaurs on land, winged pterosaurs in the sky, and a range of sea monsters in the ocean.
Science Comics: Dinosaurs by M. K. Reed; Joe Flood (Illustrator)
Call Number: Graphic Novel
Learn all about the history of paleontology! This fascinating look at dinosaur science covers the last 150 years of dinosaur hunting, and illuminates how our ideas about dinosaurs have changed--and continue to change.