Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wentworth Learning Commons: Home

Wentworth Learning Commons News

 

Library Class & Book Business Schedule

Third grade library classes have officially begun, and we in the learning commons are all very excited about having our students in the space on a more regular basis. Book business times have shifted and our faculty have proven extremely helpful in updating their classroom's scheduled book business time slots.

Playaway Circulation

Playaway audio books remain some of our most popularly circulated item. As a result we have purchased more for the collection and amended our circulation policies. Playaway audiobooks will now be available for 1 week to provide better access for all our students here at Wentworth.  There will still be no holds or renewals available on these items.

Book Business : Holidays & Inclement weather

At this point we will not be able to reschedule book business times due to inclement weather and holidays. We are able to help some students in the morning before announcements, however, this is dependent on learning commons staff not being pulled for morning duties. If the learning commons staff is away on duty there will be a sign at the circulation desk communicating that students and staff should return when a librarian is present. 

Professional Collection

We have continued to add to the professional collection. In addition to the leveled books we are now adding some playaway copies to the collection to accompany the leveled titles. This will hopefully allow a broader audience and some more versatility in small book groups. Our newest additions are playaway copies of Gordan Korman's Ungifted and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

 

 

 

Learning Commons Resources

Digital Maine Library

Digital Maine Library

The Digital Maine Library provides every resident of Maine with access to online resources that include a collection of full text articles and abstracts from magazines, newspapers, journals and reference. It also provides students, business people, public library patrons, and higher education students and educators the ability to use online learning tools.


Here are some recommended databases from the Digital Maine Library:

                                        

Chickadee Award


 

destiny discover button

sora button

Tumblebooks

Scarborough Public Library

scarborough public library button

With a Scarborough Public Library card, you can access:

Cloud Library eBooks and eAudiobooks

cloud library button

Maine Student Book Awards