LibGuides: Africa: Ancient Africa

Africa's Kingdoms and Empires (map)

Map courtesy of the Michigan State University African Studies Center

BBC What's new? (2:18) February 6, 2020

Accessed via World History Encyclopedia Entry

Ghana Empire , West Africa( 6th to 13th century c.e). Located in the western Sudan savannah region—not where the current nation of Ghana lies

Image from The Met

Ghana Empire
Gale World History Online Collection, (2022) accessed via Gale In Context: World History,
Ghana
Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, (14 Apr. 2009) accessed via Britannica School.
Al-Bekri and Leo Africanus
Middle Ages Reference Library, edited by Judy Galens and Judson Knight, vol. 4: Primary Sources, UXL, 2001. Accessed via Gale Ebooks.
Ghana
by Gérard L. Chouin in African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations.; (2017) . Accessed via Gale Ebooks.

The Mali Empire (1240-1645) of West Africa

Mali Empire
" Gale World History Online Collection, Gale, (2022) Accessed via . Gale In Context: World History,
Mali Empire
by Barrows, Leland Conley. in Encyclopedia of the Atlantic World, 1400-1900: Europe, Africa, and the Americas in an Age of Exploration, Trade, and Empires( 2018) Accessed via Gale Ebooks.
Mali
Encyclopædia Britannica, (22 May. 2020). Accessed via Britannica School

Museums

African Kingdoms Timeline - British Museum
Ancient African Civilisations - Australian Museum
Sahel: Art and Empires on the shores of the Sahara
The Metropolitan Museum of Art (MET)

Songhai Empire: The Songhai Empire (aka Songhay, c. 1460 - c. 1591) replaced the Mali Empire) as the most important state in West Africa (covering modern southern Mauritania and Mali).

"Tomb of Muhammad Ture (who took the name Askia), ruler of the Songhai Empire from 1493 to 1528, at Gao in present-day Mali." (Werner Forman/Universal Images Group/Getty Images)

Songhai Empire
from Gale World History Online Collection, Gale, 2022. Accessed via Gale In Context: World History.
Songhai empire
Encyclopædia Britannica, (7 Oct. 2019). Accessed via Britannica School
Songhai
by Kabir Abdulkareem in African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations, (2017) Accessed via Gale Ebooks.

Databases & E-reference

World History Encyclopedia (formerly Ancient History Encyclopedia),a non-profit organization that follow academic standards, but is intended for students and the public.