LibGuides: Kite Runner: Islam

PBS Learning Media: Crash Course World History John Green (2012) 12:52

Infographic: The World’s Muslims: Unity and Diversity - Pew Research Center (August 9, 2012)

SHS Databases & Nonfiction/Reference Ebooks

Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: World History reaches back to the ancient world—and forward to today's headlines—to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks including digital nonfiction and reference books.

Britannica School
an online general encyclopedia

Maine Digital Library Databases

Scholarly, authoritative, and accurate information about Islam can be found using these Digital Maine Library databases

Gale Onefile: World History - Found under Gale Subject Collections

World Book Encyclopedia(s) - There are several levels

Websites

Facts about Islam
American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee (ADC) founded in 1980
Introduction to Islam
Khan Academy: Introduction; The Five Pillars of Islam; Hajj; The Kaaaa; Introduction to the Mosque architecture
Islam
The Pluralism Project, Harvard University. Introduction to Islam; Islam in America; The Muslim Experience; Issues for Muslims in America.
Islam (2014)
BBC (British Broadcasting Company)
Muslims and Islam: Key findings in the U.S. and around the world (August 9, 2017)
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Timeline of Islam
PBS Frontline (2014)

SHS LC Books

Call #:

958.104 RAS

Traces the history of the Taliban movement in Afghanistan; discusses how the leaders of the movement interpret the principles of Islam; and examines the influence of the Taliban in the competition among Western countries and companies to build oil and gas pipelines in Asia.

SHS LC DVDs

Inside Islam Produced by MPH Entertainment, Inc. for The History Channel ; directed by Mark Hufnail ; written and produced by Mitch Lodwick.

Call #: DVD 297 INS (2002) ISBN 0-7670-5167-X

Presents an objective introduction to the Islamic faith, exploring its origins, major tenets, and practices. Features interviews with Muslim scholars, theologians, and writers.

Islam: empire of faith produced by Gardner Films in association with PBS and Devillier Donegan Enterprises ; producer/director, Robert Gardner.(Series: Empires (PBS Home Video

Call # DVD 297.09 ISL (2000) ISBN 0-7806-3749-6

Documents the rise and growth of Islam and discusses the impact of Islamic civilization on world history and culture.